goal setting
sports science


Huge Shake Up in the 2018 Premier League Darts Line-Up

Posted: 04.01.18 in Darts Performance Centre Blog category

It's all change at the PDC !

Following the conclusion of the PDC World Darts Championship at the beginning of January 2018, attention turned to the Premier League of Darts, which gets underway on February 1 in Berlin. The tour heads to Germany for the first time as well as stopping off at a number of regular venues across the UK and Ireland. Darts fans were left shocked by the recent announcement with the axe falling on a number of Premier League regulars including James Wade and Adrian Lewis as PDC Chairman Barry Hearn revealed the much-changed line-up for 2018.

Source: bet365 via Twitter


Rob Cross became the new World Champion against the odds when he beat Phil Taylor at Alexandra Palace on New Years Day and the former electrician has rightfully earned his place in the Premier League. The 27-year-old, who scooped the £400,000 prize money following a powerful display in North London, is joined by regulars Michael Van Gerwen, Raymond Van Barneveld and Peter Wright. Gary Anderson also makes it into the event following a decent year on the circuit. The remainder of the line-up has divided darts fans on social media with James Wade, Adrian Lewis and Dave Chisnall all missing out whilst Phil Taylor's retirement has also left an extra space to fill.

Whilst very few fans have questioned Cross' inclusion following his demolition of the 16 time World Champion in the showpiece event, the remainder of the field have been questioned by online critics. Simon Whitlock, in particular, seems to have divided opinion although he comes off the back of a decent 12 months. The Australian is currently ranked tenth in the world and is determined to climb the rankings and break into the top five once again. The 2010 World Championship finalist was knocked out of the competition in the second round by Darren Webster but had been suffering from a virus in the build-up to the event.

Source: Statto Bets via Twitter

Mensur Suljovic has established himself as a force over the past 12 months and the likeable Austrian takes his place amongst darts elite alongside Derry's Daryl Gurney. Gerwyn Price who reached the last 16 of the World Darts Championship for the first time will also feature with the Welshman having reached the final of the World Cup of Darts and the UK Open during a productive 2017. Daryl Gurney and Michael Smith also feature to complete a much younger and fresher looking line-up.

Michael Van Gerwen was victorious in the 2017 Premier League Darts beating Peter Wright 11-10 in the final and the Dutchman is once again installed as the 4/5 favourite in the darts betting markets whilst last year's beaten finalist is available at 8/1. Following his rise to fame, Rob Cross has already attracted support and starts as second-favourite.

The tour will pay a visit to Rotterdam for the third consecutive year and despite the omission of popular figures such as James Wade and Adrian Lewis, each staging on the tour is likely to attract a sell-out crowd. 12,000 tickets were snapped up during the first 15 minutes of the Dutch leg being announced and Thursday nights throughout the early part of 2018 will see many darts fans glued to their television screens.

Another three months of top-class darts awaits, with the competition looking more open and competitive than ever before. All eyes will be on newcomer Rob Cross and reigning champion Michael Van Gerwen when the Premier League Darts gets back underway in Dublin on February 1.

Posts by Month

Main Index