goal setting
sports science


The Grand Slam

Posted: 03.11.15 in Tournament Analysis Blog category


MARTIN ADAMS will make his debut in the SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts against Ian White on Saturday, while Andy Fordham is set to meet Adrian Lewis in Wolverhampton after the tournament's draw was made.

Andy Fordham seconds after qualifying for the Grand Slam!

The cross-code tournament will feature 24 players from the PDC system and eight BDO representatives, including former Lakeside Champions Adams and Fordham for the first time.

Reigning Lakeside Champion Scott Mitchell will also be making his debut at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall, and he was drawn in a tough Group D alongside number four seed Peter Wright, 2014 Grand Slam runner-up Dave Chisnall and Mervyn King - all players inside the PDC's top 16.

Adams, meanwhile, will kick off his challenge against number eight seed Ian White, and is joined in Group B by two other former Lakeside Champions, Jelle Klaasen and Steve Beaton.

Ever-popular 2004 Lakeside Champion Fordham will open up in Group C against two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis, the number five seed, with former World Youth Champion Michael Smith and Wolverhampton's Wayne Jones also in the quartet.

Reigning SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts champion Phil Taylor will face 2014 World Masters winner Martin Phillips in his opener, with Austria's Rowby-John Rodriguez and England's Robbie Green joining them in Group H.

Number one seed Michael van Gerwen, Sunday's European Championship winner and the world number one, will take on Dutch debutant Mark Oosterhuis in Group A, with Kim Huybrechts and Steve West also drawn to the foursome.

Van Gerwen's Group A clash with Huybrechts later in the event will see the pair relive last year's classic quarter-final, which the Belgian won with the aid of a brilliant nine-dart finish.

PDC World Champion Gary Anderson will kick off his challenge against America's Larry Butler, the 1994 World Matchplay champion who came through the BDO Qualifier, while they are joined in Group E by 2012 Grand Slam champion Raymond van Barneveld and PDC Qualifier Andy Boulton.

Larry after getting through to the Grand Slam

Last month's World Grand Prix champion Robert Thornton heads Group G alongside former finalist Terry Jenkins, Welsh debutant Jonny Clayton and Belgium's Geert De Vos, the 2015 World Trophy winner.

Number seven seed James Wade, a former Wolverhampton runner-up is joined in Group F by World Youth Champion Keegan Brown, resurgent Welshman Mark Webster and Dutch debutant Michael van der Horst.

The tournament begins with the opening group matches on Saturday November 7, with the second group matches on Sunday November 8 before the final group games take place on Monday November 9 and Tuesday November 10.

The top two players from each group then progress to the knockout last 16, with the second round being split across Wednesday November 11 and Thursday November 12

The quarter-finals are then played on Friday November 13 and Saturday November 14 before the tournament concludes on Sunday November 15 with the semi-finals in the afternoon session and the final in the evening session.

Tickets for the SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts can be purchased from the Wolves Civic Box Office in person, by calling 0870 320 7000 or online viawww.wolvescivic.co.uk.

SINGHA Beer Grand Slam of Darts

Group A

(1) Michael van Gerwen

Kim Huybrechts

Steve West

Mark Oosterhuis

Group B

(8) Ian White

Jelle Klaasen

Steve Beaton

Martin Adams

Group C

(5) Adrian Lewis

Michael Smith

Wayne Jones

Andy Fordham

Group D

(4) Peter Wright

Dave Chisnall

Mervyn King

Scott Mitchell

Group E

(2) Gary Anderson

Raymond van Barneveld

Andy Boulton

Larry Butler

Group F

(7) James Wade

Keegan Brown

Mark Webster

Michael van der Horst

Group G

(6) Robert Thornton

Terry Jenkins

Jonny Clayton

Geert De Vos

Group H

(3) Phil Taylor

Rowby-John Rodriguez

Robbie Green

Martin Phillips



Posts by Month

Main Index